Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley

I guess most people know more or less the story of Frankenstein, the scientist who creates a human being.

I first read the book to know a bit more about this iconic story, a major book of its genre for the 19th century. I have to admit that I found the style very simple, perhaps too simple, almost childish.

However, this book is interesting for the questions it leads us to ask ourselves. What is Humankind ? What defines human life ? Can or should Man create a creature resembling himself ?

If you want to think about these questions, go ahead read the book. If you just want to know the story, go on the Wikipedia page or the like to read about it. I have to admit I did so to finish the book as the style was truly bothering me.

Grade : 10/20.

Leave a Reply

