The Dark Knight Rises

The Dark Knight RisesI really had enjoyed the two previous Batman and I would even say they are among my favorite movies of the past few years. They had left a lasting impression on me and I happen to watch them again from time to time.

So I was quite excited by the release of the last chapter of the trilogy directed by Christopher Nolan. The various rave reviews I had read did comfort this feeling.

So I finally took some time to watch it at the local movie theater. I’ll cut to the chase : it is a fantastic movie and it is my favorite of the year hands down.

It’s simple : there hasn’t been a single day since I watched it where I don’t want to watch it again. I really can’t wait for the DVD release.

The story is gripping and you won’t notice that almost three hours go by. There is no pause in the narrative.

All actors are doing a great job, the whole cast is splendid in its various roles and Anne Hathaway is simply stunning and gorgeous.

The plot is revolving around terrorism but has a different atmosphere than the two previous episodes. As IMDB points out :

” Christopher Nolan said that this film’s theme deals with “Pain”. For Batman Begins, it was on “Fear”, while The Dark Knight deals on “Chaos”.”

If you haven’t watched it yet, do yourself a favor : watch Batman Begins and the The Dark Knight. Then go and watch this one. You really won’t be disappointed.

Grade : 9.5/10. I just wish it could last a bit longer… or better, that there were a sequel…

3 thoughts on “The Dark Knight Rises

  1. Man I agree with this review. TDKR was awesome and I’m so sad that it’s over. Tom Hardy was amazing and the fear that spread over Gotham was so intense. And then that wink at the end to Robin.. Why can’t Christopher Nolan just make Batman & Robin too haha. 9.5 for me too

    • We seem to have the same ” dream ” to see other Batman (and Robin ? ) movies by Christopher Nolan. I bought the DVD of this movie and long forward to the moment I’ll have some time to watch the three Nolan’s Batman in a row.

      • You got that right! I so hope that Nolan just changes his mind and realizes that he owes it to us to make at least Batman & Robin. Funny that you mention it, before seeing it this summer I watched the first two with my girlfriend one day before. I recommend it, because it increases the experience.

Leave a Reply

