Black Mesa mod

Black Mesa ModBack to the days I was in high school (in 2001, yes, this doesn’t make us any younger) my parents offered me what was one of the best video games of the time, and perhaps of all time : Half Life.

I guess it is one of the reason why I didn’t get my Baccalauréat (the French leaving certificate) with any honours as I spent a lot of time playing it. (*)

Back to 2012 and its high speed Internet connections. If you have never played HL and are not enthusiastic of playing it because of its pretty aged graphics, rejoice.

A team of amateur video games developers have been working for EIGHT years to recreate Half Life with the graphics engine of the second opus. The result is quite spectacular :

Half life Black Mesa

(One the left : the original game ; on the right, Black Mesa Mod.)

In this total conversion Gordon Freeman (the main protagonist) still doesn’t speak, the enemies are cunning, the atmosphere is still as great… But there are some new things. As the developers’ website note :

As such, Black Mesa was founded to fully reconstruct the Half-Life universe utilizing Source to its fullest potential in terms of art detail, level sizes and code features.

It should be noted that the project is being built from the ground up and is not a simple port of Half Life maps and models into the Source Engine.

The idea is to remake the storyline used in Half Life into a new polished Source Engine version with new models, maps, soundtrack, voice acting and textures.

All this is absolutely free so if you are even remotely a fan of first person shooters, go and download the three gigabytes and have fun !

The official website

(*) This doesn’t matter anymore as I was awarded both my Bachelor of Arts and my Master in International Management with honors. No, I am not bragging, I am making a point 😀

3 thoughts on “Black Mesa mod

  1. Not finished yet, but I was (a bit) disappointed to see they just delete a few rooms of the map “On a rail”. But overall, this mod is awesome.
    No spoils but W00t! what an end to the “Questionable ethics” chapter!
    And the OST is just great!

    • You played all weekend instead of working, great ! 🙂

      The OST is indeed great and I really like the dialogs, they are sometimes hilarious. Well going to play a bit tonite as I didn’t play today… 🙂

Leave a Reply

