GRRR! by the Rolling Stones

GRRR! by the Rolling StonesWhen I was around twelve, my parents offered me my first CD ever : a Rolling Stones album – Stripped, in 1995. Ever since I have been listening to this great Rock n Roll band.

So naturally, when GRRR! – their latest anthology – was released it got my attention. And having had a look at the great tracklist – see below – I just couldn’t resist and bought it.

So here is the soundrack for the three CDs version I bought :

3CD / 50 tracks

50 TRACKS ON 3CDS
INCLUDING TWO BRAND NEW TRACKS
12 PAGE BOOKLET

CD 1

1. Come On
2. Not Fade Away
3. It’s All Over Now
4. Little Red Rooster
5. The Last Time
6. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
7. Time Is On My Side
8. Get Off Of My Cloud
9. Heart Of Stone
10. 19th Nervous Breakdown
11. As Tears Go By
12. Paint It, Black
13. Under My Thumb
14. Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing In The Shadow?
15. Ruby Tuesday
16. Let’s Spend The Night Together
17. We Love You

CD 2

1. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
2. Honky Tonk Women
3. Sympathy For The Devil
4. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
5. Gimme Shelter
6. Street Fighting Man
7. Wild Horses
8. She’s A Rainbow
9. Brown Sugar
10. Happy
11. Tumbling Dice
12. Angie
13. Rocks Off
14. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
15. It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll
16. Fool To Cry

CD 3

1. Miss You
2. Respectable
3. Beast Of Burden
4. Emotional Rescue
5. Start Me Up
6. Waiting On A Friend
7. Undercover Of The Night
8. She Was Hot
9. Streets Of Love
10. Harlem Shuffle
11. Mixed Emotions
12. Highwire
13. Love Is Strong
14. Anybody Seen My Baby?
15. Don’t Stop
16. Doom And Gloom
17. One More Shot

Yes, there are only two new songs. All the tracks are ordered chronologically, starting with Come on, in 1962 and finishing on CD3 with One more shot.

Given I already had listened to Forty Licks I was a bit hesitating to buy this one. But given the great added songs and the relatively low price for 50 songs ( 20€ at the FNAC ), I just couldn’t resist.

My favorite of the three albums is the second one. Indeed, it is starting with Jumping jack flash, the best way ever to get out of bed 🙂

The first album is fantastic as well but I am no huge fan of the five first songs…

The third and last one is my second favorite I would way.

This anthology is an opportunity to have a look – or rather, an ear – at how the Rolling Stones’ music evolved with time. And just for this, it is simply a must have ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

