The Perfect Miles Davis Collection

miles-davis-miles-la-discotheque-ideale-compilation Somewhere around last year – see my review of Autumn leaves by Cannonball Adderley – I started a love story with Jazz with another CD boxset. ( to be reviewed if you want, so comment ! )

Reading a most enthusiastic review [Fr] in August led me to buy The Perfect Miles Davis Collection, a great box set containing 20 original albums in 22 CDS (18 singles and 2 double albums)

I encoded all my albums in 192 kbps to listen to them on my computers and iPhone and they just sound GREAT ! (I keep the CDs next to my old hi fi system so I can listen to them when I cook, eat and read books)

Here is the list of albums :

1.’Round About Midnight
2.Miles Ahead
3.1958 Miles
4.Porgy And Bess
5.Kind Of Blue
6.Sketches Of Spain
7.Someday My Prince Will Come
8.Seven Steps To Heaven
9.Miles In Berlin
10.ESP
11.Miles Smiles
12.Nefertiti
13.Filles de Kilimanjaro
14.In a Silent Way
15.Bitches Brew
16.A Tribute To Jack Johnson
17.On The Corner
18.We Want Miles
19.Star People
20.Decoy

As you can easily see, the albums are sorted out chronologically. Each one is presented in a sturdy carton sleeve replicating the original album. This really gives a whole new dimension to the music as you are brought back somewhere back in time, between 1957 – with ‘Round About Midnight – and 1984, with Decoy.

On top of that, you also get bonuses tracks !!

Regarding Miles’ music per se, one can clearly hear the evolution between his debuts from what I would regard as ” classical ” jazz, to more modern sounds. In any case, I really enjoy all the albums presented here !

Perfect Miles Davis collectionIf I had anything to say against this boxset I would write that it is a shame that it doesn’t contain Birth of the Cool, which is kind of a shame, but I guess that they had to put 20 albums and that the choice must have been really hard.

For around 50€ or $50, I have to say this is a pretty great bargain. 20 awesome albums for 50 bucks is really something you can’t miss if, like me, you like Jazz and don’t have any dislike for the trumpet.

One thought on “The Perfect Miles Davis Collection

  1. Pingback: Another Porgy and a different Bess | Vaste programme !

Leave a Reply

