My visit of Le Louvre Lens

Le Louvre LensThis Sunday I was fortunate to go and visit Le Louvre Lens. This annex of the museum of the same name of Paris opened its door in December 2012. My question, as an art lover, was ” Is this museum as good as the original ? “

The permanent exhibit is located in a single huge room, called La Gallerie du Temps (The time gallery). Presented in a chronological order from 3500 BC to around 1850 AC, the 200 masterpieces each represent their era and their artistic movement.

For three hours I had a look at all of them and had an excellent time. From the Egypt and Byzantine periods to La Liberté guidant le peuple from Eugène Delacroix, all of them present a tremendous artistic value and interest

Here are some highlights :

A random Egyptian statue ( picture taken by me, sorry, I don’t have the details on that one…)

Egyptian statue in Le Louvre Lens

Egyptian statue in Le Louvre Lens

An Arab celestial globe representing the constellations (a real jewel, photo taken by me)

Sidenote : the Arab civilization in the Middle Ages was very advanced in terms of sciences compared to Europe. Hence their great representation of their constellation on this priceless globe. To date, some stars have kept their Arabic name. Two examples of this : Altair and Deneb.

Arab Astronomy globe in Le Louvre Lens

Arab Astronomy globe in Le Louvre Lens

Portrait de Baldassare Castiglione, by Raphael

Portrait de Baldassare Castiglione - Raphael

Portrait de Baldassare Castiglione – Raphael

Le Nid, by François Boucher. I just like how Boucher painted. pictures of idealized times, where everything and everyone is young, beautiful and innocent.

Le Nid - François Boucher

Le Nid – François Boucher

Paysage avec Paris et Oenone, by Le Lorrain. I don’t know why I always loved Claude Gellée’s paintings. Is it the colors ? The landscape ? The combination of both elements ?

Paysage avec Paris et Oenone - Claude Gellée dit Le Lorrain

Paysage avec Paris et Oenone – Claude Gellée dit Le Lorrain

La Liberté guidant le peuple, by Eugène Delacroix. This is perhaps my all-time favorite painting, and this for obvious reasons (nooo, not the bare breasts… The Flag ! The Liberty ! The People ! )

La Liberté guidant le peuple - Eugène Delacroix

La Liberté guidant le peuple – Eugène Delacroix

I hope you liked this little guided tour of Le Louvre Lens. If so, I will write articles on the few museums I visited ever since I am in Northern France.

Leave a Reply

