The Expanse series

The Expanse TrilogyFor the past month I have been reading a great sci fi trilogy, called The Expanse. Made up of Leviathan wakes, Caliban’s War and Abaddon’s Gate and spanning over 1,800 pages I have to say this is my favorite in a long time.

The author is James S.A. Corey, the pen name for a collaboration between Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck.

It is a space opera set in the not so distant future where Man has set foot and colonized the Moon, Mars, the Asteroid belt as well as other planets and moons including Jupiter’s moons.

While I don’t think a specific date is set, you’d guess it takes a few centuries after present days. And as usual  and just as in The Mars Trilogy by Kim Stanley Robinson, Earth is a source of major trouble…

Replete with great characters – the main ones  – The Expanse trilogy brings a convincing story with a great intrigue, action and plausible technology.

The series follows the adventures of James ” Jim ” Holden and his team of five. Each of them having deep personalities that are really convincing, with strengths, weaknesses and issues of their own.

Additional characters, while not present throughout the trilogy, are also a major great point of the series.

To conclude : I love those books as they just bring great modern sci-fi. If the aforementioned Mars Trilogy was my favorite reading of 2008, I guess this one is my favorite scifi series for 2013.

I have read that other small books complete the trilogy. I haven’t read them. To conclude, there is another trilogy in preparation and I am quite waiting for it…

Grade : 18/20.

Leave a Reply

