I, Robot, by Isaac Asimov

I RobotWhen I was a student and shortly after finishing my studies – so around 2005 and 2008 I would say – I read Isaac Asimov’s Foundation cycle and really had appreciated.

The seven books, while written in various decades, constitute a Must-Read for scifi enthusiasts. Asimov is well known for another cycle of books, The Robots. So, to determine if this series is as good as the other one, I started reading it.

And having finished I, Robot I can write two things :

  • First, that it is really good, yet old science fiction.
  • Second, that the eponymous film with Will Smith as absolutely NOTHING to do with the book. (Even if I liked the movie as a good popcorn moment)

But what is this book about ? Here is the plot to Good Reads :

In I, Robot, Asimov chronicles the development of the robot through a series of interlinked stories: from its primitive origins in the present to its ultimate perfection in the not-so-distant future–a future in which humanity itself may be rendered obsolete.

Here are stories of robots gone mad, of mind-read robots, and robots with a sense of humor. Of robot politicians, and robots who secretly run the world–all told with the dramatic blend of science fact and science fiction that has become Asmiov’s trademark.

The book is most famous for introducing the three laws of robotics :

  1. A robot may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.
  2. A robot must obey the orders given to it by human beings, except where such orders would conflict with the First Law.
  3. A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the First or Second Law.

To conclude this short review, I really enjoyed reading this first opus and will give a try to the second. I just hope it will be as good as this one.

Grade : 16/20.

Leave a Reply

