Anathem, by Neal Stephenson

I just finished after a few weeks this amazing book. The first 50 pages were hard as I  had to not only get into the new world and story but also in the new vocabulary. But after these I was hooked. From page 100 to 200, the suspens started to increase progressively until I litterally could not get away from that one.

There are some lengths there that reminds me of The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco as if the philosophical arguments are great at world building, they can be a bit… beyond the point of the story. Another book this one resembles is A Canticle for Leibowitz, when nuclear was something to be scared of and hence, all to plausible.

There are other lengthy parts of the books and I believe that it could have been a hundred page shorter. But other than that the author is a genius of wit, erudition… Maths, Physics, Quantum mechanics, Philososphy… You name it, it is here. Add to this the factst that the characters are likeable, the plot builds up steadily…

I am very happy a Librarian at the Seattle Public Library recommended it to me, although I was originally looking for a shorter read.

9 out of 10. Strongly recommended !

Leave a Reply

